film, musical, must see

Movie Review: Pitch Perfect 2

Apparently yesterday was the five year anniversary of Pitch Perfect when I made my blog, total coincidence I swear, so I am doing the second movie today. Once again spoilers will be ahead. I DO NOT OWN THE PICTURE.

Our favorite Barden Bellas are back: Becca (Kendrick), Chloe (Snow), Fat Amy (Wilson), Stacie (Knapp), Cynthia (Dean) and Lily (Lee) along with new singers: Flo Fuentes (Chrissie Fit), an immigrant from Guatemala who often shares stories about her time there and Emily Junk (Hailee Steinfeld) a freshman whose mom Katherine (Katey Seagal) was a Barden Bella. Once again the Bellas are at the center of controversy and have been banned from competition. However through a loophole they are able to be in the international championships with the promise to be reinstated if they win, much to amusement of Smith (Higgins) and Gail (Banks). However the competition is very stiff which includes the tough German group Das Sound Machine, led by Kommissar (Birgitte Hjort Sorensen) and Pieter Kramer (Flula Borg), who just may give the Bellas a run for their money. Chloe, who has intentionally failed classes to stay as a Bella, wants everyone to focus, but Becca has started an internship at a music studio, headed by Sammy (Keegan-Michael Key) and starts to realize just how tough the music business is. Meanwhile Fat Amy and Bumper (DeVine) continue their relationship from the previous film, but it soon has commitment problems. Also returning to the movie are Aubrey (Camp), Jessie (Astin) and Benji (Platt), who has a crush on Emily.

Now if I may be honest story wise the second film is not as good as the first with the drama between the girls. However song wise I loved them. Again I love mash-ups so watching the competitions and riff-off was fun, but what I enjoyed the most was the original song in the film. Emily had written a song called “Flashlight” and it was a really good one. The Bellas did the song at the end of the movie while Jessie J did the song on the soundtrack. One of the girls Ester Dean (Cynthia) has a song during the end credits called “Crazy Youngsters” that I also enjoyed, doesn’t surprise me since Dena has written several hit songs, including a few Rihanna songs.

Overall this film did live up to the first and I cannot wait to see their third, and possible final, film this Christmas. I will defiantly be standing in line for that. Last call pitches!

Standard

Leave a comment