film, James Bond

No Time To Die

I know it has been a long time since I have written on this blog; there were opportunities that I had to focus on and it took me away from something I love dearly. There is something I have been working on for nearly a year and it has taken a bit longer than expected. In the meantime anyone who has read my blogs may have know there was no way I could pass up not reviewing the latest adventure of 007. As this is still in theaters I will try and be discreate with spoilers, but just in case a spoiler alert is being issued. I DO NOT OWN THE PICTURE.

Five years after the events of Spectre. James Bond (Daniel Craig) has retired after ending his relationship with Dr. Madeline Swann (Lea Seydoux). However Bond and retirement never seem to last too long. Felix Leiter (Jeffrey Wright) tells Bond a MI6 scientist Valdo Obruchev (David Dencik) has been taken. Obruchev had been working on a project for M (Ralph Fiennes) known as Project Hercules, a way to kill a target using their DNA without harming others; oh yeah cause there’s no way a bad guy can’t twist that wrong. Bond agrees to help Leiter and his colleagues Logan Ash (Billy Magnussen) and Paloma (Ana de Armas) whilst meeting the spy who took over his status as 007: Nomi (Lashanna Lynch), but the mission ends in tragedy and treachery. Returning to MI6, Bond reunites with M, Moneypenny (Naomi Harris), Q (Ben Whishaw), Madeline, Nomi, and, to his dismay, Ernst Stavro Blofeld (Christoph Waltz) all of them determined to find Project Hercules and the psychopath orchestrating everything. The man: Lyutsifer Stein (Rami Malik), who is hellbent on revenge, changing the world and torturing Bond with a secret over Madeline’s head that changes the franchise forever.

As this was established as Daniel Craig’s final run as James Bond I knew they would go all out, and the film did not disappoint. I maintain that Skyfall is Craig’s best performance as 007, but he did extremely well in this film. Many critics have called it the best way to have ended Craig’s run as everyone’s favorite spy and I whole heartedly agree. It was great to see everyone back for one more time as their respective characters while introducing new people. When I heard Lashanna Lynch has been cast as a Bond equal I was intrigued having seen her in Captain Marvel. She completely blew my mind as Nomi and left me very curious to know more about her character should she go forward. However the true standout of the film was Rami Malik. The Oscar winner oozed creepy the moment he appeared on-screen and captivated me with every word. I would not call him the best villain of the Daniel Craig era of Bond, but he’s definitely the one to watch in No Time to Die. I would a s well like to point out to those who enjoy the Bond soundtracks they will enjoy the theme song this year. The song titled “No Time to Die” sung by Billie Elish who also co-wrote as well as her brother Finneas O’Connell and Miles Ale. No Time to Die has won a Grammy already this past year, but time will tell if the Oscar may also be in the future. Classic Bond fans may want to keep their ears open during the credits for a fan favorite Bond song.

I would definitely say the film, while I would not yet call it must see just yet, was worth the nearly year long wait. I for one could not think of a better conclusion to Daniel Craig. On behalf of all the Bond fans I would like to thank Craig for his 15 year stint as 007 and wish him well with his future projects. I cannot say for sure when the next 007 film will be nor who will take up the mantle, but one thing I can say: it has been a crazy ride.

Standard

Leave a comment